Love is Patient, Love is Kind.

“Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude.  It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.  Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.  Love never ends.” 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 ESV
A couple of months ago my ten year old was driving me crazy.  I have no idea why, but she was on my last nerve.  I made the decision to change my thinking and try to avert my frustration.  I made the choice to think and say over and over to myself “Love is patient, Love is kind.”  I jokingly said to my husband that I would have the whole verse memorized by the end of the day.  Well, I didn’t have it memorized.  In fact, I didn’t even read the rest of the verse.  1 Corinthians 13 is very popular at weddings but as I just read the verse again for this post, it is just as appropriate for parenting.  I have a step daughter who is now in her 20s.  Even though she is no longer a minor, I am still a parent.  I still worry about her decisions and shake my head when I don’t understand something she does.  I have to remember that no matter what, she is my daughter and I love her.  Nothing she does or says will ever stop that love.  That is the essence of this verse.  Love covers everything; it never ends.  When you love someone you don’t embarrass them on purpose (okay, when we have teenagers we like to embarrass them a little, but nothing that would result in life long scars).  We don’t resent our children or speak rudely to them.  We can be firm with our children and still respectful.  What an incredible example to for our children to see how to behave.  There is much to learn from this verse.

I think I am going to put this on an index card and post it them around the house.  These verses can carry us through every day life of marriage and parenting.  This could be great to mediate on the start of every day.  Let’s start today.

2 thoughts on “Love is Patient, Love is Kind.

  1. Pingback: Start Now | Clarabelle

  2. Pingback: Husband or Wife / Contol Freak or Ulrta Sensitive? | Being a Help Meet... and more

Leave a Reply

