Feeling a little anxious

Over ten years ago I was officially diagnosed with a mild form of depression – adjustment disorder with mild depression.  I went from being a full time worker bee to a full time stay at home mom in about 36 hours.  We adopted our youngest daughter.  Yep.  No 9 months of preparation – we had days.  We found out she was available on a Monday, Tuesday evening we got the call we were chosen, Wednesday I walked into work and said, “It’s a girl! Today is my last day.”, Thursday at 1:45pm I held my Peanut for the first time.
I believe I

The beach is very soothing to me.

The beach is very soothing to me.

had bouts of depression before that time, but never got it checked out.  I actually made that first appointment before my daughter arrived.  I had to wait a few weeks for an opening.  When my daughter did arrive, I was thinking of cancelling it because I felt great.  But hubby wisely suggested I keep the appointment and I was glad I did.  Ever since then, my set backs have been fewer and certainly for much shorter periods of time.  Currently I do take a very low dose of an anti-depressant to help keep my mood stable and it works great for me.  Exercise also works well too except I don’t always feel like working out 🙂

I write this today because over the weekend I have felt a setback.  Not sure why and it came on suddenly.  Over the past few weeks I have really enjoyed updating my blog so I find it therapeutic to share this with you right now.  Today is better than last night, and I know tomorrow will be even better.
I will keep this thought in my mind to offset the Negative Thoughts that creep in during this time: “do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.”  Philippians 4:6 ESV
“Say to those who have an anxious heart, ‘Be strong; fear not! Behold, your God will come with vengeance, with the recompense of God.  He will come and save you.'”  Isaiah 35:4 ESV
One thought on “Feeling a little anxious

  1. Oh, Kristine, I wish I were there to give you a hug. I love that scripture you posted. Holding onto and thinking those positive thoughts really helps to renew our minds every day. “But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not faint.” (Isaiah 40:31, NIV) Much love, Sebrena

    Like

Leave a Reply

