What is THAT?

I went to the dermatologist yesterday for a body check for moles.  I have lots of freckles and some moles.  I also have a history of skin cancer now on both sides of the family.  As many of you know my grandmother passed away of melanoma at the end of September 2012.

I’ve had a few suspicious moles either cut or scraped off over the years and they have all been benign.  Today I pointed out a mole that looked very different from the others.  The doctor agreed and scraped it off (the area was numbed first).  If they don’t call me back, good news.  The doctor said it looked like a pre-basal cancer but expected the biopsy to be normal.  I have no worries.  My faith is in God and the fact that I made the appointment as soon as I noticed a couple of weeks ago.  Worrying about it will not change the test results.  So in a few days I’ll know.  In the meantime I am going to check my sunblock and I want you to do the same.  I have some medications that I take on a daily basis and two of them make me sensitive to the sun.  I get sunburned just driving down the street sensitive.  The doctor asked if my sunblock had zinc and or titanium in it.  I said I wasn’t sure, but would check.

 

First: do you have sunblock? Yes? Good, and wear it every day.  No? Go out and buy some.

Second, when you are shopping for it – read the label and make sure it has zinc and or titanium in it especially if you take medications that make you sensitive to the sun’s rays.

Third – wear it.  Everyday.  Currently I don’t, but I plan on getting into the habit of it.

Fourth – have a funny looking freckle or mole or not sure what that thing is on your arm or leg? Make an appointment with your family doctor or dermatologist.  Trust me, the exam is quick and easy and the removal is virtually painless.  Plus, you will feel a whole lot better knowing the answer then just wondering and worrying.

If we don’t take care of ourselves, no one else will.  If we are not healthy, we cannot care for our loved ones and friends.  It’s not selfish to get a check up.  It’s the responsible, grown up thing to do.

Now, go lather up, wear a hat and watch out for the sun!Image

3 thoughts on “What is THAT?

  1. Good to know about the zinc and titanium! My dad has also had similar issues with precancerous spots. I will be praying for no phone call for you!

    Like

  2. I found sunblock with titanium and zinc in it. It is called CeraVe and I got it at Walgreens. It is a bit pricey at $17.49, but if it keeps me from getting burned, I’m all for it,

    Like

  3. Pingback: Home Just in Time | terrysthoughtsandthreads

Leave a Reply

