Favorite apps & teasers

I think I wrote before that for Mother’s Day this year, my hubby bought for me a Google Nexus 7 tablet.  I just love it.  It has a ton of memory, I can listen to music, watch videos, read books, have my calendar, social network apps – it is just awesome.
I thought I would take a moment and share with you some of my favorite apps:
Mint (can be used on Apple and Android products and desktop) – FREE – http://www.mint.com.  This is a great personal finance app to help you track your spending and even set financial goals.
Evernote – (can be used on Apple, Android and desktop) FREE – http://www.evernote.com.  An electronic notebook where I keep track of gift ideas, scrapbooking ideas and wish list of products, blog ideas and notes, meeting notes from my volunteer commitments, vacation lists, etc.
Cozi (Apple, Android and desktop) – I use the free version.  There is a gold version you can purchase but I don’t see the need for that version.  http://www.cozi.com.  I found out about this app from my favorite FlyLady.  In the calendar I can assign the appointments to different members of the family, other family members can sign into the site/app and access the calendar as well.  I also have a Master Grocery Shopping List set up as well as a Master Housework list set up.
Youversion Bible app – apple, android, desktop – FREE.  http://www.youversion.com.  This Bible is fantastic in a couple of ways.  First, you can carry the Word with you wherever you go.  Second, there are several versions of the Bible (NIV, King James, Common English Bible, Amplified Bible for example) so chances are you can find the version you are most comfortable with and a wonderful way to compare scriptures among different translations.  Third, many of the versions have audio components so you can hear the Word being spoken.
I only download free apps at this point.  It is very helpful for me to have apps that i can access through the desktop as well.  Since my favorite apps can be accessed on my tablet, i am thinking that when my apple phone contract is up, I will go backwards to a “dumb” phone and use my tablet for my electronic needs.  I hardly ever use my phone as a phone.  It really is for emergencies and contact with my husband.  I do text on occasion with my sister and younger family members (stepdaughter and niece) so my next phone will need texting capability.
What are some of your favorite apps?
TEASER…
I have felt led by the Spirit to start my in depth writing projects.  So some of my blog posts will be shorter and much lighter in nature so I can focus more time and energy on these projects.  From time to time, I will ask for your suggestions, opinions on some of the topics.  Just a few teasers….a drama about Jesus and the two Marys (this idea has been on my heart for a few years and I finally feel ready to write); publish an e-book about caring for loved ones with short and long term illnesses; and a more recent idea which has me very excited – a series on the 10 commandments and how they are relevant for today.  Please pray for me that I follow God’s will and that my words are pleasing to God and His work here on earth.
Continue to enjoy this wonderful summer and remember, this is the day that the Lord has made; I will rejoice and be glad in it.
Leave a Reply

