Staying focused

As I get older I am noticing that I have a harder time paying attention and for longer periods of time.  There can be a couple of reasons: 1. getting older 2. technology.  I have an iPhone and tablet, love facebook and love getting email.  By having beeps and notices when you get a message or response, it compels you to keep checking.  Which of course interferes with the ability to have a conversation with another human being and finish simple tasks.  I do house paperwork at the desk with the computer.  My other distraction  is YouTube.  That’s a whole other post.

I put a post it on the monitor that says, “I will complete one task at a time.”  It’s pretty much re-training my brain.  Sometimes I need to get a timer and set a limit; usually no more than 15 minutes.  I have also started keeping a to-do list.  This accomplishes two things: 1.  I have written down everything I’d like to do so I don’t have to worry about forgetting it.  2.  It helps to cross things off to feel a sense of accomplishment.  There have been times when I needed to write down “get dressed” and “eat.”  Those were times when my depression was not under control.  It was something I learned in therapy.  It might seem overly obvious or simple, but if you are having trouble focusing – have two lists.  One list of daily “Must Do” and another for “Want To.”  By seeing the “must dos” crossed off it propels you forward to the “want” and keep you on track.

What are some things you do to stay focused and keep on track?Image

Leave a Reply

