Power of Words

Over the past few weeks I have been making a point to spend time reading the Bible.  I decided to start easy with Proverbs.  Proverbs is like Psalms – pretty straightforward and very poetic.  That’s what I need- straightforward and if it sounds pretty even better.
 
Have you ever found yourself in a situation where someone has wronged you or you heard someone did something wrong then you told others? First thing that comes to mind is high school.  Oh, the hormones are raging which leads to lots of emotions.   We would feel the urge to tell everybody everything.

 

Hopefully as we get older we outgrow that but it’s not always the case.  Businesses that I have worked for at times seemed like professional high school.  We got paychecks, but the gossip, rumors and assumptions ran rampant.  Even as I knew better to participate, I would find myself being sucked into the dark vortex.  It would be an internal fight to rise above it.

 
Proverbs 17:9
“He who covers over an offense prompts love, but whoever repeats the matter separates close friends.”
Just because someone you know screws up doesn’t mean everyone else needs to know.  I’m not talking about abuse or illegal activity.  I’m thinking of if your kid gets in trouble at school you don’t need to broadcast it. A better example is your husband insists on doing a home improvement project himself even though you think a professional would be better. See where I’m going?   If his way back fires, hopefully with no serious injury to body or home, you don’t need to rub his face in it or call your mother, sister, and best friend to gloat about it .
 

Proverbs 17:14
“Starting a quarrel is like breaching a dam; so drop the matter before a dispute breaks out.”

Your sister experimented with her hair – again.
Your best friend went out with a guy who you knew was a loser, and she called to complain.
Your husband came home late, the kids are cranky, you’ve got cramps, and he is complaining that fast food is dinner.
There are times when we need to zip our lip, take a deep breath and ask God for help.  “Lord,  you know how I feel right now.  Cover my mouth.  Help me speak with kindness.”

 

It’s not easy.   It takes practice.   I need to practice this.   Perhaps that’s why these verses jumped out at me.   Hubby and I live in a town home development.   There are committees that certain requests need to go through.   We submitted a request months ago and approval still has not been granted.  We think we are making a good faith effort to get the correct information and it seems to never end.  Let’s just say words and tones of voice (on both sides) have not always been  easy going and kind.  I started praying for better tone and I am noticing a change in hubby and I which is good.  I continue to pray for the other party.  Oh, how the Bible is full off instruction and relevance still to this day.  Amen.

 
Leave a Reply

