Mork calling Orson…come in Orson

“Oh Captain!  My Captain!”

“Carpe Diem.  Seize the day.”

“My best friend is a VC!  This will NOT look good on my resume!!”

“Na nu Na nu.”

“Shazbot.”

August 11, 2014 Robin Williams died.  In his lifetime he was an alien, a homeless man on a quest, a Russian seeking freedom, a doctor, an army disc jockey, a genie and Peter Pan for goodness sake.  His roles were as varied as the stream of consciousness that would leave his mouth.  I hope Bravo rebroadcasts his episode of Inside the Actor’s Studio.  They had five hours of material and one audience member had to be taken to the hospital with a hernia because she laughed so hard for so long.

For me, he will always be Mork.  A lovable, zany, harmless alien from Ork that lands in Boulder, Colorado and befriends Mindy McConnell.  Pam Dawber deserved countless Best Actress awards for performing opposite Robin and doing it wonderfully.

In my notebook where I wrote my rough draft of this post I went on writing about addiction and depression.  There is so much that can be said on this topic.  I’ll post my thoughts another time.  Right now I am watching YouTube videos of Robin Williams and laughing and smiling.

Channeling Mork for a moment, I will give you my report (like Mork would give Orson a report).  Depression and addiction are diseases not just mood swings or weak personal strength.  They need to be treated by medical professionals and realize that there is no cure.  Individuals learn to manage their illness on a day to day basis.  Relapses are possible.  So, family and friends need to be understanding and supportive and give hugs whenever possible.  Laughter helps too.

Mork signing off.

Na nu Na nu

Watch this: Mama Mork, Papa Mindy

Leave a Reply

