Cancer SUCKS.

braincancer ribbon

Cancer SUCKS.  I lost a friend yesterday. Garnet Stevens II. Yes,he was a second. His father’s name is Garnet and passed it on to his son. We would tease him about that in college. We went to college together. He was a couple of years ahead of me and we were both involved in campus media.  He had a radio show on the campus radio station and he also got involved with the campus television station where I was involved. He hosted a talk show we had and he also hosted a serious news magazine show we did too.  When I met him I thought, “Wow! He looks like Ferris Bueller!”  Then I got to know him and thought, “Wow!  He IS Ferris Bueller.”  He was hilarious, kind and truly a sweet person. He fought brain cancer for four years. He started a blog to keep friends and family updated on his illness and to record as much of his life as he could. He was afraid he’s lose the ability to speak. His blog reached 250,000 hits at its peak. It became a source of inspiration and hope to people from all over the country and the world. It was done here on WordPress. You may have heard of it “Thinking Clearly.” The blog came down a few months ago I believe. Just a couple of weeks ago a mutual friend messaged me and said that Garnet’s wife was looking into hospice for him. The cancer had moved into his spinal fluid and chemo was not going to help. The end was near.

His blog generated a lot of attention and as a result he was asked to do quite a few interviews. In one interview he recounted how he was told that where his initial tumors were in his brain could affect his ability to speak and his sense of humor.  His reaction was all he had was his ability to speak and his sense of humor. He used those gifts to bring awareness of the effects of cancer on the patient and his family as well as to encourage, raise money for prevention and treatments and let others know they are not alone. He was a man of faith. He held onto his faith throughout his illness.  His motto was Keep the Faith.

There was a time when this news would have sent me into a dark, depressive tailspin. I have learned over the years ways to handle my grief and sadness. I cried. I posted the news and my feelings on social media and grieved online with friends. Then I did laundry. What else could I do? Taking to my bed and wailing would have been totally selfish and accomplish absolutely nothing. I prayed. I asked God to comfort his wife and sons and his family. I thanked God for Garnet’s life and the joy he brought to the world.

Garnet used his gifts to deal with his disease. I must use my talents to handle my sadness. So I am writing this post. I also have the urge to do a walk for the American Cancer Society. Today I will see what events are happening in my area. I’ll create Team Garnet and raise money to find a cure for this dreadful disease. These things will not erase my grief. Only time can hep with that. In the mean time I’ll keep writing and Keep the Faith.

This is the interview I mentioned earlier with my friend Garnet Stevens http://youtu.be/n21Qmot7AjQ?list=FLRgD9i3SKFN0NZnF0hVEZFQ

Leave a Reply

