Under Appreciated Tool

There is one item I believe to be an under appreciated tool – the timer. Every home has at least one, most likely more. There are timers on microwaves, ovens, cell phones, computers/tablets, and even watches – does anyone wear a watch anymore?

I never gave timers much thought until after I was married and I started a direct sales business that sold kitchen tools. One of the tools was a kitchen timer. I started using it at home and I was hooked! Food in the oven didn’t burn anymore 🙂 As the years have gone on I have found many uses for my handy dandy timer.

I have used my timers for:

* cooking and baking

* to determine how long chores took

* timeouts for my daughter

* length of time she needs to read for homework

* track my exercise at home

I think the two ways I use my timer the most anymore is for cooking and baking and chores. I used to dread emptying the dishwasher. For some reason it seemed to take forever for me to do it. So one day I decided to follow the advice of FlyLady and time how long it takes to empty the dishwasher. I was making soup in the microwave – 3 minutes. So I decided to see how far I could get in 3 minutes. Well, much to my surprise I had about 2 or 3 items left at the end of the 3 minutes but those only took seconds to put away. From that day on, I stopped dreading the dishwasher. Quite often I empty the dishwasher while I have something in the microwave cooking.

So if there are any tasks you dread doing at home or at work use your timer. You can

1. set it to count up to see how long a task takes

2. or you could set it for a set time and when the alarm goes off, stop what you are doing and do something else.

Use your timer. I bet you will be fan just like me.

Leave a Reply

